Book: “How High We Go in the Dark” by Sequoia Nagamatsu

B

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding
and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of
intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as
humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a
climate plague-a daring and deeply heartfelt work of
mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice. In
2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to
continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the
Batagaika Crater, where researchers are studying long-
buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost,
including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who
appears to have died of an ancient virus. Once unleashed,
the Arctic plague will reshape life on Earth for generations
to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to
devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace
possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed
for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love
with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A
heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second
chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects-a pig
-develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed
painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a
cosmic quest to locate a new home planet. From funerary
skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships,
Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and
compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries,
and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resilience
of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the
connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

About the author

Fat Geisha

Fat Geisha is a non-binary artist who enjoys photography, modern art, design, architecture, music, books, manga and anime.

Add Comment

Leave a Reply

©2022 FatGeisha.com All rights reserved.

By Fat Geisha

About Author

Fat Geisha is a non-binary artist who enjoys photography, modern art, design, architecture, music, books, manga and anime.

Photo Stories

This week’s photography from Japan
This week’s photography from Japan

Currently reading

Social

You can get in touch with Fat Geisha on Twitter. This is the fastest and easiest way.

©2022 FatGeisha.com All rights reserved.

error: © FatGeisha.com
This week’s photography from Japan
%d bloggers like this: